# The International TOVS Working Group (ITWG)

- Vincent Guidard (CNRM, Meteo-France and CNRS) Liam Gumley (CIMSS/SSEC/UW-Madison) ITWG Co-Chairs
  - **June 2021**



UORKING GROUP

## International TOVS Working Group (ITWG)

- Established in 1983 as a working group of the *International Radiation* Commission (IRC).
- Adopted in 2012 as sub-group of the *Coordination Group for Meteorological* Satellites (CGMS).
- Provides a forum where operational and research users of atmospheric infrared and microwave sounder data exchange information on:
  - Sensor and satellite status (particularly for new missions)
  - Processing methods and derived products (temperature, water vapor, trace gases, ...)
  - Sounder data use in Data Assimilation and Numerical Weather Prediction Radiative transfer and surface properties

  - Climate studies
  - Real time sounder data reception, processing, and products



### International TOVS Study Conference

- ITSC is held every 18-24 months; 22 conferences have been held since 1983. ITSC-22 was held in November 2019 in Saint Sauveur, Quebec (hosted by
- ECCC).
- In-person conference spans 7 days:
  - 5 days are plenary session talks and posters (single track) •
  - 1 day is for working group meetings
  - 1 day free
- Working groups meet for 2-4 hours to discuss progress on action items, new topics, and assign new actions and recommendations.
- Working group co-chairs present and write up a working group report.
- Recommendations are presented to CGMS and IRC by ITWG co-chairs.



### ITWG Working Groups 2021

### Working Groups

- **1. Numerical Weather Prediction** 2. Radiative Transfer and Surface Property Modeling
- 3. Advanced Sounders
- 4. International Issues and Future Systems 5. Climate
- 6. Sounder Products and Software

### **Technical Sub-Groups**

- 1. RTTOV and CRTM
- 2. Radio Frequency Interference



## ITWG Working Group Leadership 2021



- Numerical Weather Prediction: Fiona Smith (BoM) and Brett Candy (Met Office)
- Radiative Transfer and Surface Property Modeling: Marco Matricardi (ECMWF) and Ben Johnson (UCAR)
- Advanced Sounders: Dorothée Coppens (EUMETSAT) and Dave Tobin (UW-Madison)
  - International Issues and Future Systems: Peng Zhang (CMA) and Niels Bormann (ECMWF)
  - Climate: Nathalie Selbach (DWD) and Cheng-Zhi Zou (NOAA)
    - **Products and Software:**
- Nigel Atkinson (Met Office) and Graeme Martin (UW-Madison)

### ITWG Technical Subgroup Leadership 2021



- RTTOV & CRTM: James Hocking (Met Office) and Ben Johnson (UCAR)
  - Radio Frequency Interference: Nancy Baker (NRL), Stephen English (ECMWF), Rich Kelley (NOAA), and Jean Pla (CNES)

### ITSC22 Group Photo





Vincent.Guidard@meteo.fr Liam.Gumley@ssec.wisc.edu



# Welcome to ITSC-23!